January Favorites!

February already, January flew by pretty quickly. I don’t have a whole  lot of favorites for January but I do have a few products, moments and shows that stood out for me.

 I did post a 2015 Beauty Favorites this month you might want to check out here.

Let’s get into a few things I loved in January.

 photo 20160115_151440_zpsvjfrljbv.jpg

The first thing I really loved was the Hourglass Ambient Lighting Edit. I have a full review coming soon so I don’t want to give away too much.

 photo 20160104_005123_zpsmjcncugn.jpg

While we’re on the subject of powders, The Tartiest Contour Palette was another favorite last month. You can check out my review here.

This is the perfect contour palette is your in the market for something natural and buildable.

 photo 20160115_131418_zpslpmxbjpp.jpg
All month I kept reaching for this Maybelline 14 Hour Lipstick in Endless Rasin. It’s that perfect nude brown tone with a hint of mauve. I picked this one up on clearance at Target I believe. I really like the texture of it and the smell. Does it last 14 hours? No, it’s just like any other lipstick but it’s a lovely color.

 photo 20151225_134407_zpszdeir9qm.jpg photo 20151208_220711-1_zpskiakoo6q.jpg photo pixlr_20151231041807029_zpsq73ulsuh.jpg photo pixlr_20151225134623372_zpscphgddtg.jpg
And finally, I really loved the Too Faced Le Grand Palais and Le Grand Chateau all month. I used them almost every time I did makeup this month, on myself and clients.  This time of year in Louisiana is a huge social season with Mardi Gras celebrations. There are tons of formal events and balls. I had a couple clients going to balls this month and I used Le Grand Palais for both. Both collects are elegant and yet have glittery shades and shimmer that are perfect for the Mardi Gras season.  The style for the Mardi Gras season is usually for glitz and glamor, lots of sparkles rather than red carpet chic. I think I might do a tutorial for Mardi Gras. I have two Valentine’s days looks in the works as well.

 

January was also my Birthday Month. I turned *gasp* 29 on the 13th. To celebrate we all had dinner at Mikado Sushi and  to the bar. It was a pretty fun night. I power drank a few pints of Guinness and some Zinfandel leading to a two-day hangover of course. I’ll never learn. Anyway here are some of the pics from that night.

 photo 20160113_161026_zpsvuqg7rni.jpg
My makeup

 photo FB_IMG_1452788036764_zpsnamgxtq4.jpg photo FB_IMG_1452788018686_zpstqjg7rtr.jpg photo IMAG0219_zpsjw9tw3is.jpg photo IMAG0224_zpsupsnqjed.jpg photo IMAG0225_zpsmvwzb2oa.jpg photo FB_IMG_1452787960005_zpszobfpr1a.jpg photo FB_IMG_1452787952889_zpsv5prrzle.jpg

Lastly, a few shows I loved in January.

the girl with the dragon tattoo photo: Millenium- The Girl with the dragon Tattoo the-girl-with-the-dragon-tattoo-movie-poster1.jpgthe girl with the dragon tattoo photo: Girl With The Dragon Tattoo tumblr_lk0dtlMqIX1qchvpd.gif

I’m currently re-reading The Millennium Series, I started it at the beginning of January. It’s still on of my favorite book series.  The Mr and I also watched the original Swedish movies on Netflix for the second time. I love Noomi Repace. I wish she’d reprised the role for the American version. Even though I don’t believe they are planning on remaking the rest of the series because the first one wasn’t a commercial success. It’s a great film. David Finch is a hell of a director, and Trent Reznor on the soundtrack was perfection. That being said there is still just something special about the original Swedish version that makes me want to re-watch it over again, just like reading the books. I love falling into the world of Mikael Blomkvist and Lisbeth Salander.

nurse jackie photo: Nurse Jackie nurse_jackie_poster.jpg
Mid January I tore through Nurse Jackie. I don’t have a lot to say on this one, other than I enjoyed it for entertainment sake but I have issues with the way it shows opiate addiction. I get that it’s a dramedy so it’s not going to get real. I’m too sick to get into this one. LOL.

the mindy project photo: The Mindy Project themindyproject.jpg

And finally, the end of January was punctuated with The Mindy Project. Still one of my favorite sitcoms.

Sorry, if this post is a bit of a mess. I’m hella sick right now with a bad cold. My brain is mush. LOL.  February hasn’t gotten off the best start but hopefully, she improves.

In case you missed a recent post, check these out from last month:

Montecito Cosmetics 3d Fiber Mascara Review and Demo

20160111_195350

Smoldering Smoky Eye Feat. Montecito Cosmetics

collagehehth_zpspu8bds9w

Montecito Cosmetics Review

f

2015 Favorites in Beauty

vevee

Too Faced Love Flush Blush Wardrobe Review

20160104_004924_zpsfl4uagyf

Ziggy – Purple Smokey Eye feat. Too Faced Le Grand Chateau

20160105_152759

Tarteist Contour Palette Review and Demo

20160104_005031

Ulta Haul feat. Too Faced, Makeup Revolution, Tarte, NYX and more!

20160104_004624

 

 

 

Thanks for stopping by! Don’t forget to check out my Instagram, Facebook, Pinterest and Twitter for more!

Bee Beautiful. Bee You.

 

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “January Favorites!

  1. It’s funny that you mention the Millennium series because I read the first one, loved it, for some reason stopped reading the second one shortly after I had started. This was years ago but now I keep looking at them on my shelf and I’ve been thinking about trying again from the start! I think this is a sign I should try again!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. That might be why they popped back into my mind. I saw that and wanted to go and read the originals. I’m with you there, I don’t know how I feel about it either. It’s a strange concept to me, for another author to continue someone’s series…

        Like

Leave a Reply

