Heartshaped Abyss – Valentine’s Day Makeup Tutorial feat. ABH Modern Renaissance.

JANUARY (3).pngHey guys, It’s almost Valentine’s Day so I wanted to do a soft romantic makeup look for yall with the Anastasia Beverly Hills Modern Renaissance Palette because it’s the perfect palette for a V-day look. photo GIF_Maker_VideoToGif_2-2-2017_120014_PM_zpsumssgsf9.gifMy inspiration was this picture below I found a few month ago on Devant Art, I loved how it was washed out and looked like it was a screen shot of an old VHS. It’s romantic vaporwave. The title I choose is a Moonspell song.  photo 161_zps6bq12dny.jpgThe look I created is a soft smoky romantic eye paired with a deeper bold lip from Laura Mercier that ties to the shades I used on my eyes. I wanted the to keep it wearable, and daytime-friendly, to me anyway. I have no qualms about wearing something bold day or night. Typically, my husband and I go to lunch for Valentine’s Day and spend the rest of the day out and about so I wanted a look that could transition from day to night with no fuss. You could pair a softer lip for day and vamp it up at night. photo heartshaped abyss 10_zpsmx4kwgmj.jpg If want to see how I created this makeup look, just keep reading below.

 

 photo 20161208_085038_zpsbwdbdoge.jpg
Anastasia Beverly Hills Modern Renaissance 

 

On the eyes, the star of the show will be the Anastasia Beverly Hills Modern Renaissance Palette. Particularly focusing on those and berry shades, keeping the look somewhere between warm and cool.

 photo 20161208_084930_zpsqzfranry.jpg
Anastasia Beverly Hills Modern Renaissance 

 

I started out with a primed eye using ELF Eyelid Primer and going ahead and filling in my brows with Anastasia Beverly Hills Dip Brow in Taupe which is currently too cool a shade for me so I warmed my brows up with a combination of Warm Taupe and Cyprus Umber from the Modern Renaissance palette.

I took Tempera (matte pale beige) all over the lid to the brow bone and then took Warm Taupe (Matte Warm Taupe describes the shade perfectly)  into the crease and blended up and out as a transition. For this, I used a large fluffy brush.
 photo FotorCreated_zpsoapsytve.jpgNext, I took Vermeer (Metallic Iridescent Shell) all over the mobile lid on a flat brush. photo 20170130_080300_zps45me4sri.jpgThen on a smaller dome blending brush, I took Love Letter ( Matte Raspberry) on the outer corner and blended inward softly onto the lid, blending in with that Vermeer shade creating a gradient effect. I built up the Love Letter shade in the outer corner to add more depth and also brought it through the crease and pulled the shade outward toward the tail of the brow for a lifted effect. Keeping everything blended and hazy around the edges.

How appropriate is Love Letter for a V-day look? Aptly named.
 photo FotorCreatedhtht_zpsn1tlqygl.jpgI blended Love Letter out a bit more for drama, meshing it with the Warm Taupe in the transition.  The key to looks like this is blending and keeping all your edges soft and seamless.  photo thdhdgtgdzd_zpshcphez4u.jpgJumping to the lower lashline, (I did my face makeup before this step, personal preferance) and took that Warm Taupe shade at the outer corner and blended across toward the inner corner letting it blend to nothing. I brought this shade down quite low and emphasized the contour of my eyeball. (That sounds weird) This creates the illusion of a larger eye. I have tiny shrimp eyes if you haven’t noticed so I use techniques to make them seem larger, less hooded and lifted.  photo 20170130_085247_zpseucqnr3b.jpgNext, I took the Vermeer shade on the inner corner and blended it toward the Warm Taupe. I used a very small brush for this because I kept Vermeer concentrated closer to the lashline and I blended over to the darker shadow, highlighting that contour I created with Warm Taupe. I also added a bit of Vermeer to the brow bone to highlight.
 photo 20170130_085624_zpsba7hzq0l.jpgThen I took Love Letter on a small pencil brush and blended it into the outer corner and fading it inward, keeping it closer to the lashline, making sure to connect it to the shadow on the upper lid to create a more hazy rounded look that still lifts upward to the tail of the brow.  photo 20170130_085400_zpsfrkbp0bm.jpgOn the waterline, I added NYX Faux White Pencil in Linen (A Pastel Pinky Peach) to really open the eye and create a barrier between the eyeshadow and the eyeball itself.
 photo 20170130_085841_zps2j8lqqv4.jpgI finished off the eye by curling my lashes and adding a few coats of my favorite mascara.

 photo 20161019_131555_zps0zeogxkj.jpg
Too Faced Better Than Sex Mascara

And here is the finished eye. You could definitely add more va VA Voom by popping on some falsies and a flicky wing.  photo rrdrgrg_zpsb7ad8kmb.jpg photo 20170130_093650_zpsrtyfxenz.jpgFor the lips I went with a raspberry shade as well that is almost the same as the Love Letter shadow I  used on the eye. I thought it would be a cool kind of monochromatic.

 photo 20170130_093806_zpssmhqmeku.jpg
Laura Mercier Velour Lovers – An Affair

Speaking of aptly named products, the lipstick I used is Laura Mercier Velour Lovers Lipstick in An Affair. 

 photo 20161208_091838_zpsigacqot8.jpg
Laura Mercier Velour Lovers – An Affair

As for the rest of the face, here’s what I used: photo FotorCreated_zpstzuewleg.jpg Foundation: Elf Flawless Finish Foundation – Porcelain + Nyx Pro Foundation Mixer – White

 

 

Concealer: Maybelline Age Rewind – Fair

Setting Powder: Kat Von D Beauty Lock-It Translucent Setting Powder. Kat Von D Beauty Lock-It Setting Powder Review + Demo #LockItRevolution

Contour: Nyx Sculpt & Highlight Face Duo – Taupe/Ivory + Tarte Tarteist Contour Palette. Tarteist Contour Palette Review and Demo

Blush: Too Faced Le Grand Palais – Skyline  photo 20151230_012728_zpspf8rfqkn.jpg

Bronzer: Hourglass Ambient Lighting Bronzer –  Luminous Light Bronze 

Highlighter: Hourglass Ambient Strobe Lighting Powder – Iridescent Light + Anastasia Beverly Hill Modern Renaissance – Vermeer

 photo 20160115_151440_zpsmzxvzifm.jpg
Hourglass Ambient Edit

Finishing Powder: Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder – Diffused Light

And finished face! 
 photo thth_zps2xrqh9mn.jpg photo yjyj_zpsybtjsdte.jpg
 photo yjjyjyj_zpsudjlvbud.jpg

That’s the look. I hope you enjoyed it. What are your Valentine’s plans?

 

 photo TEXTS - LITTLEDR3AMS 27_zpsvm8pdnug.jpg

Need some more V-day inspiration? Check out my past Valentine’s Day looks.

Ultra Femme Smoky Eye Feat. The Naked 3DESSERTS

Valentine’s Evening Makeup feat Montecito Cosmeticsfbfb_zpsmkldqzfb

 

Thanks for stopping by! Don’t forget to check out my Instagram for the day-to-day life of a Beauty Blogger and Makeup Challenges, Facebook, for blog updates and makeup LOLs  Pinterest for inspo and current obsessions, Bloglovin and Twitter for updates!

Bee Beautiful. Bee You.

 photo vvaVrvrr_zpslhtr76pi.pngInstagram | Twitter | Facebook| Bloglovin| Pinterest| Tumblr

25 thoughts on “Heartshaped Abyss – Valentine’s Day Makeup Tutorial feat. ABH Modern Renaissance.

Leave a Reply

