Moon Child Makeup Tutorial Feat. ABH Moon Child Glow Kit + Tarte Tarteist Pro Eyeshadow Palette

Add heading.png
Good morning! Wednesdays’ blog is up a tad late. I was just going to take a nap yesterday but I ended up just plain going to be. Sleep and I are not getting along lately.

Anyway, today I have a tutorial using the Anastasia Moon Child Glow Kit and a few shadows from the Tarte Tartest Pro Palette. The star of this show is the Moon Child Glow Kit, though. 
 photo BeautyPlus_20170316004731_save_zpsmzqbvm9n.jpg

I really wanted to do a look more so inspired by the Fields of the Nephilim song called Moon Child and pull color inspiration from the video and of course, incorporate the glow kit. I wanted this look to be very dark with hints of the 1980’s early 90’s goth scene.

 photo 3Vcv3e_zpsmcoholp4.gif

If you want to see how to get this witchy look, just keep reading below.
 photo f6dd4bb2-6c74-4259-813d-d796cad33ff6_zpsqydbefpc.jpg

Here’s a look at my inspiration. I wanted to use dusty deep mauves, and hints of blue and black with a silver shine.
 photo mc_zpsjkfyxhfo.jpg

The star of the show today is the Anastasia Beverly Hills Moonchild Glow Kit, particularly the shade called Star and I pulled all my matte shades from the Tarte Tartiest Pro Palette.

 photo 20170310_001904_zpsfhnpqbtu.jpg
Anastasia Beverly Hills Moonchild Glow Kit

 

The Eyes

Let’s get started. I beginning with my brows done and eye primed as usual. I just used my concealer to prime my eyes and set over the lids with a translucent powder. I used concealer because I was going for a super pale look and I wanted to blank out any discoloration of my lids. I also went a bit more dramatic on the brow.

On a big fluffy brush, I took the shade Vintage from the Tarteist Pro Palette. It’s an almost pure white shade.

 photo 20170314_100620_zpsbx4f0ybd.jpg

Nor that you can really see it but I applied Vintage to the brow bone and inner corner of the eye.
 photo 20170314_100631_zpsgswvhvpq.jpg

Next, on a fluffy crease brush, I took the shade Profesh which is a cool toned brown shade, it’s almost a mauve shade.
 photo 20170314_101342_zpstsqp2exp.jpgI took this into the crease and a transition shade. I really blew this color out, bringing it up to the brow bone on the inner corner and in a cat eye shape toward the tail of the brow.
 photo 2_zpsqoi6fjyt.jpgTaking a deeper grayed out plum shade, this one is called Fierce with a more flat blending brush to pack the color on.
 photo 20170314_101752_zpsrf6igzgk.jpgI applied this shade all over the lid and blended into the crease.
 photo 3_zpskutwzdcm.jpgThen I took the black shade called Punk on a pencil brush.
 photo 20170314_102519_zps7n4hv1wn.jpgPunk went into the outer portion of the lid and blended over into the Fierce shade. I drug the black shade up toward the tail of the brow and blended it as I went for a lifted look.
 photo 4_zpskbwmp4ia.jpgNext, I cleaned up the edges with a q-tip and some face primer. I wanted to get a clean structured line.
 photo 5_zpspsboosto.jpgMoving on to eyeliner, I used the Kat Von D Tattoo Liner in Trooper to create a kind of thin but long wing, Then with the black eyeshadow I softened the line and blended it at the outer corner so it meshed right into the eyeshadow.
 photo 6_zps7pwtievn.jpg

For the lower lash line, I took Profesh and began smoking it out.  photo 20170314_112732_zpsnsevgmgn.jpg

Next, I tight lined with a deep gray eyeliner. This one is from Tarte, I believe it’s called Slate.
 photo RGDRGD_zpstirtnm1r.jpg photo 20170314_112809_zpsfy1ke430.jpg

I added some more smokiness with the Fierce shade blending a little lower down, then softening with Profesh
 photo 20170314_112946_zpsc4zyzn6i.jpg

I added some more of the gray liner to the lower lashline into the roots of the lashes and softened it with the black eyeshadow. 
 photo 7_zpsduhzl23d.jpg

From the Moonchild Glow kit, I took the shade Star on the inner corner. 
 photo 20170310_002041_zpszunksb4o.jpg

I blended Star slightly inward a little bit on the lid and on the lower lash line, as well as the brow bone. photo 8_zpsbi6uvmvz.jpgI finished off the eye by curling my lashes and applying a few coats of mascara.
 photo 9_zpswkkpcu0c.jpg

For mascara, I used the Tarte Tarteist Lash Paint.

 photo 20161008_212251_zps2zp5feck.jpg
Tarte Tarteist Lash Paint Mascara

 photo to the moon 4_zpsxzw5v8ib.png

 

The Skin
 photo 20170314_115028_zps4s8luekt.jpg

For foundation, I used the Nyx Total Control Drops in Alabaster. Then for concealer, I used a combination of the Kat Von D Lock-It Concealer in Warm Neutral and White. I set everything with a translucent setting powder.

 photo 20170120_184905_zpst71urg4q.jpg
Tarte Blush in Memorable 

I contoured my face with a super cool toned contour, for this I used Nyx Blush in Taupe (Discontinued) and for blush, I used Tarte’s Memorable then highlighted using Star from the ABH Moonchild Glow Kit. I finished the skin off with Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder in Ethereal and set everything with a setting spray.
 photo BeautyPlus_20170316005200_save_zpsmjih5eyp.jpg

 

For the lips, I used Nyx Liquid Suede in Alien topped with Star.

 photo 20170209_151138_zpsemk5kmr7.jpg
Nyx Liquid Suede in Alien 

Review here: Nyx Liquid Suede Review and Swatches

 

 photo 76707639-9cef-4bdb-a14e-a124ff0eab12_zps18rhghce.png

The Finished Look
 photo 33232_zpsjwrhxvss.jpg photo 16166_zpsacfvlzqg.jpg photo BeautyPlus_20170315231226_save_zpsvtmssrn3.jpg photo 515153131_zpslry7bwit.jpg photo 11315315_zps3oqeshta.jpg

I hope you enjoyed this look! Come back Friday for a review of the Finesse Restore and Strengthen Shampoo and Conditioner, and check out my review of the ABH Moonchild Glow Kit here: Anastasia Beverly Hills Moon Child Glow Kit Review, Swatches and Looks. 

 photo tumblr_nrn56wkkw11t1uct2o1_1280_zpskrw94awa.gif

Thanks for stopping by! Don’t forget to check out my Instagram for the day-to-day life of a Beauty Blogger and Makeup Challenges, Facebook, for blog updates and makeup LOLs  Pinterest for inspo and current obsessions, Bloglovin and Twitter for updates!

Bee Beautiful. Bee You.

 photo vvaVrvrr_zpslhtr76pi.pngInstagram | Twitter | Facebook| Bloglovin| Pinterest| Tumblr photo Posting Schedule_zpsg9vsrmct.png

 

 

15 thoughts on “Moon Child Makeup Tutorial Feat. ABH Moon Child Glow Kit + Tarte Tarteist Pro Eyeshadow Palette

Leave a Reply

