Favorite Highlighters For Pale Skin – Drugstore Edition

Add heading

Alrighty, today I have part 2 of my favorite highlighters for pale skin, this time we are talking drugstore/affordable. Like in my last post I have a few more recommendations that I don’t have on hand as well.

Again, I want to mention that these are highlighters that I prefer for my skin tone which is very fair. Most of these can work for anyone. And don’t forget to let me know your favorite highlighters in the comments below!

Let’s get started, shall we?

Let’s begin with liquid and cream products.

First up is the Nyx Born To Glow Liquid Illuminator in Sunbeam.

 photo 20170414_145155_zpsqicfsaoo.jpg
Nyx Born To Glow Liquid Illuminator

 

Sunbeam is a pale pink toned pearl. I like to mix this one in with foundation. I find it can be a tad chunky looking on when applied directly to the face. Not a bad highlighter, I wish it were smoother in texture, however, the color is gorgeous. I say it’s chunky as in there are flecks of glitter in it which is a running theme in drugstore highlighters.
 photo 20170414_130605_zpsaxut6jor.jpg

Now for something much smoother in texture and super blendable. The e.l.f. Shimmer Palette.

 photo 20161019_131616_zpsw41pfbmm.jpg
e.l.f. Shimmer Palette

 

Inside you have four shades which all swatch pretty similarly. They have a white pearly finish and all have a cool undertone. They are super smooth and blend beautifully over or under foundation. An underrated product from e.l.f. for sure and for 3 bucks you can’t go wrong.
 photo 20161019_131633_zpsdryepub4.jpg

Another love from e.l.f. is this All Over Color Stick in Golden Peach.

 photo 20161008_212143_zpsvou1mnaa.jpg
e.l.f. All Over Color Stick in Golden Peach

 

This is a discontinued product but you find it here on Amazon. I adore this little guy when I want a rose gold kind of glow. I usually layer it under my powder products. It gives a slight peach tint and a flattering warm glow.
 photo 20170510_184424_zpsymybrmdo.jpg

Moving on to powders, there next few are in the more illuminating range rather than full on highlight. These are ones I like to use as more finishing powders like one would with the Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powders which I have a couple of dupes for coming up.

This first powder I like to use for the body, like chest and shoulders. It’s the e.l.f. High Definition Powder in Shimmer. I would not use this guy as a setting powder. It’s very shimmery and glittery. The loose format lends itself well to using it with a large fluffy brush to add some glow to the body, however.

 photo 20170510_185527_zps5phxytu6.jpg
e.l.f. HD Powder in Shimmer

 

On the skin, it reminds me of the Urban Decay Naked Illuminated Shimmering Powder for Face and Body in the shade Luminous. Only when a better texture to be honest.

 photo 20170510_185543_zpsqzggufcg.jpg
e.l.f. HD Powder in Shimmer

 

My swatch, unfortunately, doesn’t do its shimmer justice.
 photo 20170510_185613_zpsdqohcf7q.jpg

Next up is the highlight from the e.l.f. Beautifully Bare Full Face Palette.

 photo 20170510_185449_zpssfwl0rpd.jpg
e.l.f. Beautifully Bare Full Face Palette

 

This is a very subtle highlight, it’s def more of an illuminator meant to give the skin a natural glow. It’s very similar to the Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder in Dim Light. The texture, of course, isn’t Hourglass but it’s still fantastic quality.
 photo 20170510_185509_zpscfm5n27m.jpg

Speaking of Hourglass dupes from e.l.f. the e.l.f. Illuminating Face Palette is an almost dead-on dupe in shades and finish.

 photo 20170510_185339_zpsmvvivgjm.jpg
e.l.f. Illuminating Palette

 

This is an absolutely fantastic palette! There is a shade in here similar to 4 of Hourglass’s Ambient Lighting Powders including Dim Light, Diffused Light, Mood Light, and Radiant Light. 3 of those were in my high-end edition! Seriously, this little guy is legit and great for fair skin tones.

 photo 20170510_185345_zpsrgtacvlt.jpg
elf Illuminating Palette

 

Again, swatches don’t do it justice.
 photo 20170510_185425_zpsqnhlesbz.jpg

One more surprising Hourglass Dupe and oddly marketed product. This is the WetnWild Color Icon Bronzer Spf 15 in Reserve your Cabana.

 photo 20170510_185017_zpsbcqqtaul.jpg
Wet n Wild Color Icon Bronzer in Reserve Your Cabana

 

I don’t know who the hell this is bronzing but it’s a stunning finishing powder to give a naturally radiant glow to the skin. It’s a damn perfect dupe for the Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder in Dim Light.
 photo 20170510_185031_zpsvf3h6z9w.jpg

I mean, you see that right? “Bronzer”
 photo 20170510_185126_zpsupptnkj0.jpg

Mine is so well-loved, here’s what the product looks like new. LOL!
 photo Screenshot_20170510-232552_zpstnjnlzdu.png

Moving into some more fun products, of course, the Nyx Duo Chromatic Illuminating Powders make this list. They are fantastic.

 photo 20170414_144958_zpsvrbhl3b2.jpg
NYX Duo Chromatic Illuminating Powders

 

I have the shades Lavender Steel and Snow Rose, but the shade Twilight Tint is awesome for pale skin as well. I have a full review here: NYX Duo Chromatic Illuminating Powder Review photo 20170310_003317_zps9iv1uwfg.jpg

Now for an old favorite. These were probably the first highlighters I ever got my hands my hands on and I still love them to this day. They are the e.l.f. Baked Highlighters which retail for a whole $4. These a beautiful, they are the perfect highlighter, can be worn lightly or built up hella shine.

 photo 20170510_183843_zpsr4olyjem.jpg
elf Baked Highlighters and Blush

 

I have the shades, Moonlight Pearls which I wore on my wedding day. It’s the perfect pale champagne, the shade, Blush Gems is slightly warmer but still perfect for fair skin and the shade Pink Diamonds which has a cool pink base and a slight blue shift.

I also have a couple of the baked blushes included here because they are very sheer and glowy. Peachy Keen makes an awesome warm blush topper, and the shade Pinktastic is pretty much a champagne highlighter with some pink veins. Great products though, I have reached for them for years.
 photo 20170510_184226_zpssch9nxxp.jpg

This next one isn’t my number 1 favorite but it is very pale girl friendly so I wanted to mention it. The Loreal True Match Lumi Powder Glow Illuminator Blush and Highlighter.

 photo 20170510_185206_zps7oginhwb.jpg
Loreal True Match Lumi Powder Glow Illuminator

 

This is an icy cool highlighter for sure. The other shades in the range could possibly double as blushes but that’s stretching it. The color of this is really nice, my only issue is the texture is a bit chunky. If it were more finely milled I would be all over this guy.
 photo 20170510_185216_zpsad2nnubz.jpg

I swatched each quadrant individually but they were pretty much the same color swatched despite being four different shades in the pan. Blended together they make a pure ice white highlight. Something about it maybe comes off too frosty maybe, It’s a texture issue.
 photo 20170510_185253_zpsbk7inoft.jpg

This next buddy from Nyx is a great palette as far as quality and variety go. It’s the NYX Strobe Genius.

 photo 20170510_185633_zpsqwup0vzq.jpg
NYX Strobe Genius

 

While not every shade in here is going to work on pale skin tones and it’s not the cheapest palette at the drugstore as it retails for $19.00. The quality is worth it and I have found uses for the other shades in my kit.
 photo 20170510_185646_zps5cjku6mj.jpg

Out of the bottom large pans, I tend to just go for the lightest one for myself.

 photo 20170510_185732_zpsbgtcbqow.jpgHowever, the top row I have found quite a bit of use with.  Even the gold which is a very yellow gold. You can see how pigmented and smooth these guys are too. You can mix and match to get your perfect shade.
 photo 20170510_185849_zpsi9mrfdmt.jpg

Lastly, some highlighters from WetnWild.

The Megaglo Illuminating Powder is a lovely product. It falls somewhere between a blush and highlighter depending on how you use it.

 photo 20170510_184837_zpsqnmbzubu.jpg
Wet n Wild Megaglo Illuminating Powder

 

Here it is swatched individually, the pan is large enough that you could use each shade on their own.
 photo 20170510_184934_zps5ohdhpxy.jpg

Then mixed together they create a beautiful rosy glow. I’m really digging this guy at the moment.
 photo 20170510_184957_zpsl0undmh0.jpg

Here are some other products from the drugstore I think are definitely worth looking into for fair skin.

First is this To Reflect Shimmer Palette in I’ll Have a Cosmo. I have the shade Boozy Brunch which is pure gold but I think this shade would be much more flattering. I like the pigmentation and texture of the one I have. I actually meant to buy this one but grabbed Boozy Brunch by mistake.

 photo Screenshot_20170510-054312_zpspzl1a0kg.png

A couple more awesome highlighters from WetnWild are these which are always out of stock at my local drugstores. Ugh!
 photo Untitled design 2_zpsukdm7ivx.png

Another one from e.l.f. which I am trying to tell myself I don’t need is this Baked Highlighter and Blush in Rose Gold. I don’t why it says online only cause I spotted this one at Target and Wal-mart.
 photo Screenshot_20170510-035820_zps5vcbd0l7.pngI stare at these beauties at Ulta every time I go. The thing is I have soo many highlighters. I don’t need anymore but these are so pretty! I think all the shades of the Makeup Revolution Vivid Baked Highlighters are stunning.
 photo Screenshot_20170510-035939_zps0fuhitmp.png

Lastly, I wanted to include these cool highlighter shades from Colourpop. Not technically drugstore but affordable as hell and these shades are outstanding.  I have a few Colourpop products and the quality is insane for the price point. I love the texture in the super shock products too.
 photo Screenshot_20170510-052304_zpsbd4q7x8s.png
 photo Untitled design 1_zpsezwkuw2j.png
 photo Untitled design_zpslxeqvajo.png

That wraps it up for me. What are your favorite highlighters from the drugstore? Let me know below, also any pale girl recommendations? I’d love to hear from you!

Don’t forget to check out Part 1 Favorite Highlighters for Pale Skin + Recommendations – High-End Edition
Stay Spooky!

Instagram | Twitter | Facebook| Bloglovin|Pinterest| Tumblr photo Southern Gothic Style_zpsebvzyfr9.png photo Posting Schedule_zpsg9vsrmct.png

18 thoughts on “Favorite Highlighters For Pale Skin – Drugstore Edition

  1. Wow!!!!! So many highlighters!!! Us pale girls got to stick together haha!!! This is an amazing roundup!! I love WetnWild highlighters!! They really are amazing quality for how inexpensive they are!! I really need to try that first NYX highlighter. It looks so beautiful. I love a good liquid/cream highlighter. I especially love layering a powder on top for a more intense look.

    http://www.everythingandnothin.com/2017/05/11/nighttime-skin-care-routine/

    Liked by 3 people

  2. I love this list. The makeup revolution ones are so good! And the elf stick is amazing. I’ve got one in shade Watermelon – I think?! Or Maybe its spotlight – I cant remember! But I love them for a subtle highlight, I usually apply a highlighting powder over the top, because I love an over the top highlight!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

