Bee Beauty | Summer Edit 2017

Guapo Style Blog.png

Hello, Monday! Today, I finally have my Summer Edit of all the makeup I have been digging this Summer. This is a collection of my go-to products this year. I was going to include some fashion and accessories but I really haven’t been excited much on the fashion front this Summer. I have really been keeping things simple and comfortable for the most part. Honestly, I am so over Summer at this point and I am ready for Fall.

989fe5386b41e14ecd52257ad12ca882

Anyway. I have been really enjoying some makeup products and I wanted to share those with you, so if you want to see more just keep reading below.

This Edit is almost like a sequel to the Spring Edit so there will some recurring characters in here as well as some new ones.

Skincare

Let’s start out with skincare!

Aveeno Absolutely Ageless Intensive Renewal Serum. L'Oreal Revitalift Moisturizer. Cetaphil Daily Moisturizer with SPF 50
Aveeno Absolutely Ageless Intensive Renewal Serum. L’Oreal Revitalift Moisturizer. Cetaphil Daily Moisturizer with SPF 50

I am still really into my Aveeno Absolutely Ageless Intensive Renewal Serum because it’s so light weight and comfortable for summer.  I battle dry skin year round and have been LOVING the L’Oreal Revitalift Moisturizer. It’s quite heavy and only takes a small amount of product to get the job done. It’s made my skin much happier and will be great as we move into cooler months.

Of course, for Summer, a good SPF is a must. I have been loyal to the Cetaphil Daily Moisturizer with SPF 50 for years, for days when I am out and about. It is somewhat heavy and does give a white cast but it works so good and I am pale so the white cast isn’t a biggie for me. Just don’t use this one if you are really oily or going to be in a situation with flash photography.

Complexion

Moving on to complexion, this won’t be much of a surprise if you have read any of my recent posts.

L'oreal Infallible Pro Glow
L’oreal Infallible Pro Glow Foundation. L’oreal Infallible Pro Glow Powder. L’oreal Infallible Pro Glow Concealer. Tarte Tarteist Contour Palette

My go-to’s for skin has been the L’Oreal Infallible Pro Glow line. I haven’t been this into a foundation, concealer, and powder in a while. Full review of the concealer and powder are coming up Friday and I have a review of the foundation here: L’oreal Infallible Pro-Glow Foundation Review + Demo

My highlight and contour routine have been light and easy with the Tarte Tarteist Contour Palette. I like it for summer because the shades are warm yet soft enough for pale skin. I have a slight tan (not tan) at the moment and this palette is suiting it perfectly.

Bronzers

E.L.F. Beautifully Bare Full Face Palette. Physicians Formula BB Bronze Booster - Light. Hourglass Ambient Lighting Bronze - Light
E.L.F. Beautifully Bare Full Face Palette. Physicians Formula BB Bronze Booster – Light. Hourglass Ambient Lighting Bronzer Luminous Bronze Light

I wasn’t going to include bronzers because I consistently use the same 3 if I do bronze but this is a Summer Edit and even us Vampires like to have a warm summery complexion sometimes.

I found that just about any of the Physicians Formula Bronzers in light work well for pale skin. The BB Bronze Booster is my trusty go-to. Also from the drugstore is the bronzer in the E.L.F Beautifully Bare Full Face Palette. Despite looking very warm, it actually is very light and not overly pigmented so it adds just a subtle warmth to the skin. Def a great option for fair skin tones.

And of course my Hourglass Ambient Lighting Bronzer Luminous Bronze Light. This bronzer is my holy grail no if ands or buts.

Blush

I love blush. I think it’s such an underrated product. It gives you life, no matter your skin tone or style. It can do wonders for your makeup and in the summer I think a flushed face is so cute.

I have really been into warm peachy tones this Summer.

Milani Baked Blush - Berry Amore. E.L.F Beautifully Bare Full Face Palette
Milani Baked Blush – Berry Amore. E.L.F Beautifully Bare Full Face Palette

Again, I pulled the two for the E.L.F. Beautifully Bare Full Face Palette. These two are quite similar, one is a bright peachy apricot type of color and the other is a hair deeper and a bit more muted. I use both together. They are just fresh and summery. Like the bronzer, the pigmentation is soft so you can’t over do it. BTW I have a review of the E.L.F. Palette here: e.l.f. Beautifully Bare Natural Glow Full Face Palette Review.

Also from the drugstore is the Milani Baked Blush in Berry Amore. It’s the muted chill counter part to Luminoso with a soft with a slightly luminous finish. It reminds me of an Hourglass Ambient Lighting Blush. It’s more than just a blush I love for summer. It’s just a favorite always.

Too Faced Love Flush Blush - Baby Love + I Will Always Love You. Tarte Amazonian Clay Blush - Paarty. Hourglass Ambient Lighting Blush - Mood Exposure + Luminous Flush
Too Faced Love Flush Blush – Baby Love + I Will Always Love You. Tarte Amazonian Clay Blush – Paarty. Hourglass Ambient Lighting Blush – Mood Exposure + Luminous Flush

Some other blushes I am really enjoying this Summer are a couple from Hourglass. The Hourglass Ambient Lighting Blush in Mood Exposure and Luminous Flush. Mood Exposure is not far off from that Milani Baked Blush and Luminous Flush is much warmer and peachy. The texture of these is so good. I have never loved blushes so much. Something about the way they sit on the skin is just so soft and airbrushed.

I have also been reaching for Baby Love and I Will Always Love You from Too Faced when I want a really warm blush and Paarty from Tarte is my no brainer, use on the daily go-to blush.

Too Faced Love Flush Blush Wardrobe Review

Highlighter

Maybelline Master Strobing Liquid - Light. E.L.F Baked Highlighter - Blushed Gems. Nyx Duo Chromatic Illuminating Powder - Snow Rose
Maybelline Master Strobing Liquid – Light. E.L.F Baked Highlighter – Blushed Gems. Nyx Duo Chromatic Illuminating Powder – Snow Rose

I just got the Maybelline Master Strobing Liquid in Light and so far I am really enjoying it, I use it under my foundation, or mixed in and on my high points. I like the shade a lot. It’s an icy cool shade with a pink undertone. I forgot to include it in the picture but I have also been consistently using the Marc Jacobs Beauty Dew Drops Coconut Gel Highlighter. I really like mixing it with my foundation. I have a review of it here: Marc Jacobs Beauty Dew Drops Coconut Gel Highlighter Review

E.L.F. Baked Highlighter is Blushed Gems has really been a favorite this Summer. I didn’t know what I was missing with that little guy. I really love combining it with the NYX Duo Chromatic Illuminating Powder in Snow Rose.

NYX Duo Chromatic Illuminating Powder Review

Eyeshadow

My favorite subject. Eyeshadow and I have quite a few picks for Summer.

E.L.F. Prism Palette. Urban Decay Vice 3. Urban Decay Naked 3. Anastasia Beverly Hills Modern Renaissance. Too Faced Peanut Butter and Honey.
E.L.F. Prism Palette. Urban Decay Vice 3. Urban Decay Naked 3. Anastasia Beverly Hills Modern Renaissance. Too Faced Peanut Butter and Honey.

Of Course ABH Modern Renaissance. Always. But I have really been using the hell out of the Naked 3, especially in early Summer. I have reviewed both these palettes and done tons of looks with them

Urban Decay Naked 3 Review | Swatches | Looks

Anastasia Beverly Hills Modern Renaissance Review + Look Book

Too Faced Peanut Butter and Honey. You know I was loving this one in the Spring and it definitely found its way into my Summer rotation.Especially the shades shown below.

Too Faced Peanut Butter and Honey.
Too Faced Peanut Butter and Honey – Queen Bee + Honey Buns + Feelin’ Nutty

I still so obsessed with this row. I mean, I am all about those funky mustards and puke browns. LOL. If my eye shadow could look like Dwight Schrute’s wardrobe, I would be happy.

Too Faced Peanut Butter and Honey Eye Shadow Palette Review + Looks

giphy (1)giphy (2)

Too Faced Peanut Butter and Honey.
Too Faced Peanut Butter and Honey – Honey Brittle + Bee’s Knees

Next up is an oldie. I was digging through my collection and came across this little guy.

E.L.F. Prism Palette
E.L.F. Prism Palette

I doubt this is still in stores but I’m sure it can be found online. The E.L.F. Prism Palette is a really great palette. The shades are super pigmented and smooth. The colors in this one really struck me as perfect for Summer. I need to give this little fella some more love.

Another older palette is the Urban Decay Vice 3. I’m sure this one can be tracked down online. I have just been using 2 shades from called Sonic and Bondage. Gives me Naked Heat vibes.

Urban Decay Vice 3
Urban Decay Vice 3 – Sonic + Bondage

I have really been digging into the Kat Von D Shade + Light again since I am working on a review. I had put it aside for a while because got into other palettes but it’s still a classic for year round.

Kat Von D Shade + Light Eye Contour Palette. Kat Von D Metal Matte Palette. Kat Von D Serpentina Palette.
Kat Von D Shade + Light Eye Contour Palette. Kat Von D Metal Matte Palette. Kat Von D Serpentina Palette.

A few shades from the Metal Matte Palette I have been playing around with are Silk, Fringe, and Feather. They should have been in my Spring Edit.

Kat Von D Metal/Matte Palette Review + Looks

Kat Von D Metal Matte Palette
Kat Von D Metal Matte Palette – Silk + Fringe + Feather

In the Serpentina Palette which is still one of my favorites, I have been reaching for Bloodmilk a lot.

Kat Von D Serpentina Review + Looks

Kat Von D Serpentina
Kat Von D Serpentina – Bloodmilk

Also Queen and Hieroglyph, More of the Naked Heat vibes. These shades are so good paired with the Shade + Light

Kat Von D Serpentina
Kat Von D Serpentina – Queen + Hieroglyph

A few individuals shadows I love for Summer are these little guys. Most of these came in Ipsy aside from the L’Oreal. You can tell I am loving warm reddish shadows.

The Balm Meet Matrimony - Matt Kumar. Urban Decay - Fireball. L'Oreal Infallible 24 HR Eye Shadow - Eternal Sunshine. Nomad Cosmetics -Marrakesh Eyeshadow Intense Eyeshadow  -  Spice Market
The Balm Meet Matrimony – Matt Kumar. Urban Decay – Fireball. L’Oreal Infallible 24 HR Eye Shadow – Eternal Sunshine. Nomad Cosmetics -Marrakesh Eyeshadow Intense Eyeshadow – Spice Market

Eyeliner

I’ve really been into using off black shades for liner, like these from Nyx called Faux Black, they have a variety of almost black colors that add all the depth and drama of black but with a hint of color. I have used Black Olive or Black Berry almost every time I’ve done makeup.

Nyx Faux Black Eyeliner - Black Olive + Black Berry. Colourpop Eyeliner - Get Paid
Nyx Faux Black Eyeliner – Black Olive + Black Berry. Colourpop Eyeliner – Get Paid

Get Paid from Colourpop is another great Summer color. I have really been liking it on the lower lash line or waterline for a rose gold pop.

Mascara

You guessed it. Lash Paradise. Enough said. L’Oreal Voluminous Lash Paradise Review – Best Drugstore Mascara?!

I did just discover Benefit Roller Lash. I really have been sleeping on that one.

L'Oreal Voluminous Lash Paradise. Benefit Roller Lash
L’Oreal Voluminous Lash Paradise. Benefit Roller Lash

Lipliner

Lipliners are kind of boring but I thought would include the ones I have reaching for here. Not much to say about them other than that.

MAC Lip Liner - Auburn. Essences Lip Liner - Soft Berry. The Estee Edit Lip Liner - The Barest. Nyx Suede Matte Lip Liner - Soft-Spoken. Makeup Revolution Lip Liner - Echelon from the Retro Matte Lip Kit
MAC Lip Liner – Auburn. Essences Lip Liner – Soft Berry. The Estee Edit Lip Liner – The Barest. Nyx Suede Matte Lip Liner – Soft-Spoken. Makeup Revolution Lip Liner – Echelon from the Retro Matte Lip Kit

Lipstick

A few recurring characters in here from Spring that has made their way over into my Summer looks and some will probably be coming with me into Fall.

Maybelline Loaded Bolds - Coffee Addiction. L'Oreal Colour Riche - Bronzine. Makeup Revolution Renaissance Matte - Luxe. Kat Von D Studded Kiss Lipstick - Archangel. Urban Decay Vice Lipstick - 1993. Colourpop Lippy Stick - Grunge
Maybelline Loaded Bolds – Coffee Addiction. L’Oreal Colour Riche – Bronzine. Makeup Revolution Renaissance Matte – Luxe. Kat Von D Studded Kiss Lipstick – Archangel. Urban Decay Vice Lipstick – 1993. Colourpop Lippy Stick – Grunge

Still, can’t get stop using Maybelling Loaded Bolds in Coffee Addiction. It’s just that perfect reddish brown over top of most of these deeper lips I have been adding Brozine from L’Oreal Colour Riche for a metallic look.

Maybelline Loaded Bold Lipstick Review and Swatches.

For days when I want a really deep lip, Colourpop Lippy Stick in  Grunge is my go-to and when I am in the mood for something a little redder, I have been bouncing between Kat Von D Studded Kiss Lipstick in Archangel or Makeup Revolution Matte Renaissance in Luxe which is not matte at all. It’s more of a satin finish.

Urban Decay Vice Lipstick in 1993 is my no brainer go-to lately. It’s the perfect middle ground.

Maybelline Loaded Bolds - Gone Greige. L'Oreal Colour Riche - Mica. Bite Beauty Amuse Bouche - Honeycomb. Kat Von D Studded Kiss Lipstick - Lovecraft + Noble
Maybelline Loaded Bolds – Gone Greige. L’Oreal Colour Riche – Mica. Bite Beauty Amuse Bouche – Honeycomb. Kat Von D Studded Kiss Lipstick – Lovecraft + Noble

On the pink and nude spectrum, I have been going for these guys. Well, Maybelline Loaded Bolds in Gone Griege isn’t really a nude, it’s actually a really weird color but I love it paired a cool or warm eye for contrast.

The rest of these are more of my daytime simple makeup choices. Kat Von D Studded Kiss Lipstick in Noble and Bite Beauty Amouse Bouche in Honeycomb are fairly similar in tone, but Noble is lighter and a tad pinker but I go back and forth between the two depending on what I am in the mood for. Lovecraft from KVD is a holy grail kind of color, no matter the makeup, she works.

Like with Bronzine from L’Oreal, I have been using L’Oreal Colour Riche in Mica as a metallic topper. I showed it alone below and over a liner. The metallic shades in the L’Oreal Colour Riche range are really nice. They have a light, slippy texture that pair really well with matte shades.

Liquid Lipstick

Nyx Liquid Suede - Soft-Spoken. Too Faced Melted Matte - Queen Bee. Tarte Tarteist Lip Paint - Birthday Suit. Nyx Soft Matte Lip Cream - Abu Dhabi
Nyx Liquid Suede – Soft-Spoken. Too Faced Melted Matte – Queen Bee. Tarte Tarteist Lip Paint – Birthday Suit. Nyx Soft Matte Lip Cream – Abu Dhabi

I believe 3 of these were in my Spring Edit but oh well, I’m still wearing them. Especially, Nyx Liquid Suede in Soft Spoken.

Nyx Liquid Suede Review and Swatches

My newest addition to the rotation is Nyx Soft Matte Lip Cream in Abu Dhabi, I forgot all about how much I loved this shade.

Lipgloss

I have said before I am not a huge fan of lipgloss but I actually have really been enjoying these 3.

Buxom Full-On Lip Cream - White Russian. MAKE UP FOR EVER Artist Plexi-Gloss - 202 - Sweet Pink. Lancôme Le Metallique Metallic Lip Lacquer - Mirrored Nude
Buxom Full-On Lip Cream – White Russian. MAKE UP FOR EVER Artist Plexi-Gloss – 202 – Sweet Pink. Lancôme Le Metallique Metallic Lip Lacquer – Mirrored Nude

I have talked about Buxom Full-On Lip Cream in White Russian and my love of Lancôme Le Metallique Metallic Lip Lacquer in Mirrored Nude. I rediscovered the MAKE UP FOR EVER Artist Plexi-Gloss in Sweet Pink. It’s a nude gloss with no sparkle, boring AF but for some reason, I have been liking it.

Nail Polish

Whim - Spanish Lover. Julep - Veronica. Sinful Nail Polish - Creme Del A Creme + Bananapeal
Whim – Spanish Lover. Julep – Veronica. Sinful Nail Polish – Creme Del A Creme + Bananappeal. Kat Von D x Formula X – Lovecraft

Nothing much exciting here either. I am a creature of habit with my nails. I get fixated on a few and those are my obsessions which are the opposite of my makeup habits. I rarely use the same stuff consistently so that’s why I don’t do monthly favorites. If I have something I really like I put it in my weekly edits but I bounce all over the place for makeup. I really have to narrow myself down for these type of posts because I want to include my whole damn collection, we will see if I can do better in the fall. I want to add in some fashion and style stuff in that post too. We shall see. Like I said though, I am just burned out on Summer. I’m in a Summer funk.

I do have one more Summer themed makeup tutorial coming up but it’s not what you think it’s going to be. Hint: It’s titled Dirty Black Summer. LOL Current Mood: Dirty Black Summer.

Okay, guys, I will see ya Wednesday. I think we will be discussing the Infamous Sub-Culture Palette so give me a follow so you don’t miss it! I’m gonna listen to Lana and do some makeup.

7d51f0297a2be86e42640128e694dd7b

 

Instagram | Twitter | Facebook| Bloglovin|Pinterest| Tumblrsigsig

4 thoughts on “Bee Beauty | Summer Edit 2017

Leave a Reply

