Review | Looks | Swatches – Mary Kay Purple Smoke Palette + Oil-Free Eye Makeup Remover

Review | Looks | Swatches - Mary Kay Purple Smoke Palette + Oil-Free Eye Makeup Remover

It’s review time! A day late, yesterday got away from me and before I knew I was sacked out but here we are today with a review, looks, and swatches of the Mary Kay Purple Smoke Palette and the Oil-Free Eye Makeup Remover.

Let’s get into this!

Mary Kay Purple Smoke Palette
Mary Kay Purple Smoke Palette

My good friend Kim is a Mary Kay consultant and she asked me if I would like to review something from their range for my blog, and of course, I said yes because I love trying new products. I haven’t used anything for Mary Kay in well over 10 years aside from a couple perfumes. Anyway, she picked out the Purple Smoke Palette for me to try, the girl knows me because she picked the gothiest thing they carry as well as a sample of the makeup remover.

The Packaging

Mary Kay Purple Smoke Palette
Mary Kay Purple Smoke Palette

The Purple Smoke Palette comes in a heavy plastic compact that one could use to build their own palette with as I believe you normally buy shades individually or in color collections from Mary Kay and you put them in these compacts which are magnetic. I think the compact is pretty, I like the style and the hint of classic Mary Kay pink. It feels heavy and great quality.

The Breakdown + Swatches

Mary Kay Purple Smoke Palette
Mary Kay Purple Smoke Palette

In the Purple Smoke Palette, you get 6 cool toned eyeshadows in matte and shimmer finishes that can be used in various combinations to create a smoky eye makeup look.

The quality of the eyeshadows is that of a high-end palette. They are buttery soft and blend with minimal effort. The mattes are amazing, I was blown away by how smooth they are and the application was so easy.

On the pigmentation front, they are softly pigmented but very buildable giving you versatility. You can do a light wash of color or you can really build up the color for full impact. I really appreciate buildability in a palette because it gives you some leeway and options. It makes a palette user-friendly. Not every palette has to be a pure pressed pigment, that’s not something the average person really needs on the reg.

Let’s move on the swatches.

Mary Kay Purple Smoke Palette

The Purples

First, for the purple shades, you have a deep pearlized aubergine, then there is a muted soft mauve matte, and a gorgeous metallic taupe. These shades are some of my favorites for an eye look. They are a go-to for me as an MUA when it comes to Bridal looks because they are so universally flattering and romantic.

Mary Kay Purple Smoke Palette

The Greys 

In the grey family, you first have a metallic silver that is soft and easy to wear. It won’t overwhelm the eye. I find when silvers are too stark they can wash me out. Then there is a matte stone grey that I love. I feel like you don’t see this shade very often.  Lastly. there is a soft matte black. The black is perfect for people who have a hard time using a black shadow because it gets out of hand. This one is pigmented just enough to add depth and smoke out a look without becoming a mess. You can also really build it up and get a pure black. One of the most user-friendly black shadows on the market.

Mary Kay Purple Smoke Palette

The Looks

I wanted to test the versatility of this palette and use both color families for a couple looks. First up is the purple look I did where I kept things soft, subtly smoky. This is an eye look I would do for a formal event or a bride. It’s a classic, romantic eye look.

Review | Looks | Swatches - Mary Kay Purple Smoke Palette + Oil-Free Eye Makeup Remover

Review | Looks | Swatches - Mary Kay Purple Smoke Palette + Oil-Free Eye Makeup Remover

For the second look, I wanted to see how the palette would perform for my personal aesthetic which is a little more heavy handed on the eye makeup. I like my dramatic looks.  I went with the classic smoky eye look and paired it with a wing.

Review | Looks | Swatches - Mary Kay Purple Smoke Palette + Oil-Free Eye Makeup Remover

Review | Looks | Swatches - Mary Kay Purple Smoke Palette + Oil-Free Eye Makeup Remover

The Verdict

The Mary Kay Purple Smoke Palette is gorgeous, the quality is on point for sure. It’s a perfectly easy to use smokey eye palette. It’s a welcomed addition to my kit. After experiencing the quality of Mary Kay eyeshadow I am interested in trying more from the line.

The price point is a little steep at $65 but that is normal for a Mary Kay product and from everyone I have spoken too about Mary Kay, they all say that it’s well worth the money for all their products.  Mary Kay isn’t typically the brand I would go for, they don’t market really to my demographic and I would probably have never tried them if Kim hadn’t approached me and I am certainly happy she did.

The Mary Kay Oil-Free Makeup Remover

This makeup remover is EVERYTHING! It is holy grail status good. I had no idea what I was missing out on here. It takes off the most water-proof stubborn makeup in a swipe. I tore through this sample in a heartbeat because I have used it every day.

Mary Kay Oil-Free Makeup Remover
Mary Kay Oil-Free Makeup Remover

I have used my fair share of makeup removers, from drugstore to high-end to coconut oil and olive oil. This one wins by a landslide. Most of them burn my eyes so bad I can’t use them, so I use olive oil (I’m allergic to coconut oil I found) most of the time and this just stole its spot by my sink.

Mary Kay Oil-Free Makeup Remover
Mary Kay Oil-Free Makeup Remover

I will be purchasing a full size of this guy.  The price is right too at $15. Well worth every penny.

The Conclusion

My Mary Kay experience has been great. I was doubtful, to be honest, and was pleasantly surprised.

As I mentioned, my friend Kim did provide these for me to review and she is a good friend, I was so nervous that I was not gonna like the products. LOL. I’m relieved I do because honesty is number 1 here and I didn’t want to end up giving a bad review. Phew! Mary Kay was a brand I never paid attention to before, they always seemed a little dated and expensive but experiencing the product changed my opinion. Obviously, you aren’t going to create crazy avant-garde or full on Instagram makeup looks like you would with an Urban Decay, ABH or KVD palette. They do have a more mature vibe and the products reflect that but the quality is still excellent. I swear I have never felt such buttery matte eyeshadows. The pigmentation of the shadows is restrained but not in a bad way. They are made to be softer, and “wearable”.

I wanted to include Kim’s link to her page, she didn’t ask me to but you need to do yourself a favor and get that makeup remover. LOL

Kim’s Mary Kay Site

A little background on Kim, she is a super hard working mom of 3. Both her and my husband work together doing 12-hour shifts that swap day or night.  She’s one of those people who would do anything for anyone too. Kim is also a fellow blogger and she’s sharing her life to help others. Her oldest son, Payton suffered a brain injury due to Herpes simplex virus encephalitis. Her blog and FB page raise awareness on the matter and how dangerous it can be. Payton is a fighter! Anyway, please take a moment and check her blog out here: Our No Fear Journey, 

Instagram | Twitter | Facebook| Bloglovin|Pinterest| Tumblr

New Posts

 

5 thoughts on “Review | Looks | Swatches – Mary Kay Purple Smoke Palette + Oil-Free Eye Makeup Remover

    1. Hmm, I dunno know if they are in the UK. It’s a brand like Avon. You buy through a rep. I’m glad you liked the look though. 🖤

      The closest I have found to the remover is the one from lancome, close dupe.

      Like

Leave a Reply

